April 30, 2017

Advent Dulcimer Devotions return…

by Steve Eulberg

Imagine this:  A weekly email playing gentle music of instrumental ensembles featuring dulcimers, with a message of preparation that is serene, clear-sighted and hope-filled–an anti-dote to the crazed, blurry-eyed busyness of Christmas preparations (that began in some locations back in October.)

Advent is the 4-week season in the Christian tradition that marks the beginning of a new year in the life of the “called-out” people of God known as the church.  While we gather and prepare to celebrate the birth of a savior, we also gather and prepare for the return of the savior in the days when the light from the sun is shortest each day.  (In the northern hemisphere, that is.)

This is free and available to you and anyone with whom you share this

Stir Up Your Power for Hammered Dulcimer

A new seasonal lesson for Hammered Dulcimer features an original tune by Steve Eulberg.HarkCover

Steve wrote this tune as a song for his congregation to sing in the season of Advent when he was an inner city pastor in Kansas City.  Guy George later covered it and the two of them have played it on stage a few times at festival appearances.  The tune is part of Steve’s Hark, the Glad Sound recording and is found in his book Dulcimer-Friendly Worship, Vol 1: the season of Advent.

Take a look at a preview below:

 

Subscribe to DulcimerCrossing.com to see the rest of the lesson and learn to play this tune!

DulcFrVol1cov


Invitation to Advent Dulcimer Devotions

Here is an Invitation for you!

I have put together some Advent Dulcimer Devotions, delivered weekly to your email inbox for the 4 weeks of Advent.  

These are instrumental recordings of Advent hymns, played on various ensembles of mountain and hammered dulcimers, sometimes with additional accompaniment.  

They can be just what your centering practice desires for the hectic days and weeks before Christmas actually arrives:

You can sign up here:  http://eepurl.com/bFCEhD

or go to my website and sign up in the middle of the page:  http://owlmountainmusic.com

Cheers!

Steve Eulberg

PS I will also be giving a Concert Window Concert of Advent Tunes on Monday, Nov 30 at 5:30 pm PST, 6:30 pm MST, 7:30 pm CST, 8:30 pm EST